I wouldn’t call it poetry….

20140328-144243.jpg

I am a mother,
My life is a mess,
My tired is tired,
My head and my heart are heavy,
I fear for the future,
But I don’t need saving, or fixing,
soul searching,or quick fix pills.
I need Understanding, support
And words of encouragement,
The occasional hug, a smile,
a brew,
Or a mid afternoon snooze,
Maybe an evening off,
To be just a person.

I am a mother,
Choices were made,
Angels created,
I don’t need saving, or pity.
Single parenting not something
I planned,
The Cinderella roller coaster,
Didn’t compare,
to Disney’s stories’ imagined.
So Money is tight,
Child support just a joke,
The consequences of breeding,
Of believing,
Merely a joke!

20140328-144200.jpg

I am a mother,
My children amaze me,
They pick themselves up,
Hold their heads really high,
Surpass many goals.
But People are cruel,
They lack understanding,
Our issues or troubles,
Merely words to hear,
Gossip to spread.
I wonder if they walked a step,
In our shoes,
They see us as people,
Not a drain,
To be labelled or ignored.

I am a mother,
My children are special,
They need my time more than most,
Now Life isn’t easy,
My tired is tired,
My body is failing,
I fear for the future.
But I don’t need saving,
Understanding is all,
And less judgement
Or fight.
Inclusion without begging,
Schooling should be,
The best time of your life,
Just a walk In the park.

I am a mother
I work every day
To help the next generation
Be all they can be
So give me a smile
The next time you see
Because my tired is tired
And your smile
Means you understand
I don’t need saving
Just a friendly hand
X

20140328-144731.jpg

Leave a Reply

