Age Appropriate??? The Third Glance on Play and Toys

Thanks for sharing this I think age appropriate only causes me concern when a young child is playing killer kill it programs ! At 38 I still love build a bear and Disney 🙂

Thirty Days of Autism

midnight_cropped-1 My friend E wrote this wonderful piece and has generously given her permission for me to publish it here as well.  I love E’s message for so many reasons, one of which is the self-understanding and strength amplified in her statement: “I am 24, and I am autistic, and my choices reflect what I need to do to interact with the world.”

This is the third post in E’s April Autism Acceptance Series. You can find more of her work on her blog, The Third Glance.

April Autism Acceptance series #3: “Age Appropriate” play and toys

April 3, 2014

One of the things I see most often when I poke around in autism parent forums, is the concern that their child isn’t playing with “age appropriate” toys or doesn’t have “age appropriate” interests. This, to my eyes, is one of the most ridiculous questions to be asking, and in…

View original post 764 more words

Leave a Reply

