Questioning tolerance, acceptance or conditioning?

You know when you talk to people, of any generation and you recognise they are never going to understand your world or tolerate it’s coping mechanisms, but you try to be polite and give them the tolerance and acceptance you hope for, even if you know it’s a losing battle, you carry on.

Why do we do that.

I don’t have patience anymore for it.
But still I try. Be it for loved ones, relatives or friends.

I hate the social boundaries that allow bad attitude or bullying behaviour to progress.

Yet surely at some point, we have all sat there and heard older or other members of our circle be down right vile and either been stunned, conditioned or accepting.

Must not rock the boat….

Three times this Easter holidays I have controlled my impulsive nature and not reacted, part of that being, a conditioned response, another being I truly believe these people are gas lighters, they’ll excuse their behaviour behind – your being over sensitive, don’t be daft you know this is they way we do things, or say it’s there age.

I wonder why as adults we excuse this ?

We know it makes us feel awful, let alone the effect on our children, we question ourselves, but still sit there making polite conversation trying to avoid subjects you know you won’t cope with silence.

Don’t get me wrong, I have bitten before, I do bite, but I realise that’s the fun for a gas lighter seeing the hurt or frustration is amusing :/
So I try to keep quiet

But that’s wrong !

Right?

No one, no matter what reason has the right to be purposefully demoralise others, shouldn’t that mean they get called into question!

Even though you know they won’t change…

Is it cowardice or safeguarding ?

Maybe a little of it all….

No one wants to be THAT person that disagrees, causes a scene, not because you don’t believe in what you think but because realistically you’ll be THAT person that caused a scene and no one else had the balls to back you up!

I suppose in the end it’s up to the individual to as my good friend puts it

be a shepherd not a sheep

Leave a Reply

