Owed to a sausage….

One of four challenges for the 39 steps to 40 is to improve my dietary habits!

Being overweight and unfit means, I have been making some bad choices, some I will find easy to live without and others probably not 🙂

So I kick started healthy eating by completing a four day detox !

I used some of these recipes and afew I found on the internet.

20140524-121802-44282403.jpg

My youngest daughter wanted to support me in this first challenge too and because she has a severe nut allergy we avoided the almond contents.

I expected a lot of caffeine withdrawal issues and Abit of hunger but I was not expecting the total craving for meat most predominantly sausages!

20140524-164650-60410513.jpg

So after squashed breakfast and green tea and lemon.

20140524-164800-60480144.jpg

20140524-164801-60481047.jpg

There was plenty of water and more squash fruit and veg !

By day two’s end my daughter needed a real meal and I understood the need to eat normally, so I ate most of the ingredients of the next juice instead of blending it down!

We did the same the next two days and she had proper grub and I stuck to the list of fruit,veg and water !

Sadly the meat cravings were the worst and began dreaming of sausages and bacon.

So to love a sausage that’s not odd right?

I haven’t a clue how to cope with 4 weeks as a vegetarian, one of the 4 food challenges in this year.

Saturday morning came and a grill up of meat was sorted!

It was yum !

But I was mortified at leaving a sausage because after all that craving I couldn’t manage more than one :/

But there’s a BBQ later too.

Sure I’ll work my way through !

Do I feel different ?

Disappointedly not as much as I thought…..
I haven’t used weight as a calculating factor either as I haven’t weighed myself yet !

Am I surprised by the lack if coffee craving ?

Most definately…..
And I will go decaf and more water as that wasn’t hellish. But no coffee forever isn’t likely !

The meat issue ! I think juicing will stay with me for a meal a day maybe too and but protein content needs reviewing. Especially if I use this to help in training.

Big bonus the kids like fruit and veg juices !!!! Whoop whoop!!

So first experiment in diet challenges all done !!! I still love food and sausages it would seem but I cracked it!

You can help me raise money for this great cause by donating directly to my fundraising page – http://www.justgiving.com/Vix-Mcbride.
JustGiving sends your donation straight to Arthritis Research UK and automatically reclaims Gift Aid if you are a UK taxpayer, so your donation is worth even more.
Thank you for your support!
Vix

Leave a Reply

